Home » Uncategorized » The Great Indoors

The Great Indoors

Great-Indoors-Sears

The introverted part of me loves snowstorms, almost as much as it loves rain. What’s up with that? Is this just a preference of mine, or do other introverts feel this way about inclement weather? I think its appeal to me is multi-faceted. For one thing, it sets a mood that seems to match my preferred one: contemplative, peaceful, cozy, secure. I don’t quite understand why many people see rain as sullen and gloomy and cause for complaint, yet get excited about snow. Perhaps it’s because there is more to do in the snow – sledding, snowball fights, building snowmen. Even shoveling. It invites activity. But you can’t do much with rain except stay inside, and that’s probably one reason I’ve always liked it. I’m basically an indoor kind of guy, and always felt a little threatened and overwhelmed by the big wide world outside my door. Too unpredictable. I’d rather read about it. The indoors always felt safer, even if I knew my preference for it was a bit abnormal. Also, I wasn’t athletic, and in grade school rain always meant we had to stay inside (yay!) and play some pseudo- sport I was more comfortable with (dodge ball, volleyball), versus one where I would feel totally inept (baseball, football). Even away from school, if it were a nice day I would feel pressured to do something outdoorsy with someone, and often there was no one around (most of the kids in my neighborhood were not the sort I wanted to hang around with, so I had only two or three friends to choose from). And then there’s the matter of my fair skin and proclivity to sunburn. So yeah, indoor activities were much more user-friendly and suited to my temperament.

None of this is to say I do not like the outdoors. I spent lots of time outside as a kid, exploring “Mica Rock,” the woods, the stream, bike riding, swimming in our pool. I also like nature, even if I make little effort to engage with it (though I do love the forests of New Hampshire and the vistas of the Southwest). But as I got older and tied to my very demanding indoor businesses, the outside got put way on the back burner, especially when I lived in places with no yard. Now that I have a nice yard and more spare time I enjoy the outdoors more, but still love the rain and snow. It makes staying indoors feel “normal,” and that’s just fine by  me.

3 thoughts on “The Great Indoors

  1. I’m with you. I’ve always loved rainy days for that exact reason. “Nope, can’t go mow the lawn. Guess I’ll just have to stay inside & watch TV/read a book/take a nap, etc.”

    I still get as excited as a grade schooler when a snowstorm is on the way. I love everything about it, and seeing how happy my dog is in the snow makes it that much more enjoyable.

    I love doing outdoors things too, but to me, there’s not much better than being cooped up inside. (Another reason why I don’t get a flu shot. Bring it on! Unplanned vacation!)

  2. Sounds like you have the best of both worlds…indoors and out…but I have to say I am glad for the time you are indoors writing because I enjoy all your blogs….keep them coming….

  3. The rain and snowy days give us introverts an unasked for ‘permission’ to be ourselves, which is, to find a cozy corner, be still, re-energize and not feel guilty for ‘wasting’ a beautiful day.

Leave a Reply

